Before buying an imported charger, power strip or power bank in Japan: what the PSE mark has to be accompanied by
When a cheap USB charger, power strip or power bank turns up on an overseas marketplace, what to check is well defined. Japan's Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act states that a business may not sell, or display for sale, an electrical appliance that does not carry the prescribed display (Article 27), and the form of that display is set by Ministerial Ordinance. Under Article 17 of that Ordinance the display is not the mark alone: the name of the notifying business must always accompany it, and for a specified electrical appliance the name of the conformity inspection body as well. A product with a mark-like symbol but no company name anywhere does not meet the prescribed form. This guide reads the Act, the Cabinet Order and the Ordinance as retrieved from the e-Gov statute API on 2026-09-20. This is a different scheme from the radio-law conformity mark, and this guide is a reading of the text, not legal advice.
Published · Updated · FaultNote editorial policy
Who this guide is for and what to prepare
- Anyone buying a charger, power strip or AC adapter from an overseas marketplace for use in Japan
- Anyone checking whether power banks fall within the regulation
- Anyone who wants to know what the PSE mark means at the level of the statute
What you need
- Be able to see, on the product page photographs or specification list, whether a mark and a company name are displayed
- Note whether the seller is a business in Japan or outside it
- Note separately whether the product has radio functions (Bluetooth, Wi-Fi), which fall under a different scheme
1. The display is a condition of sale, written into the Act
The basis is Article 27 of the Act, which provides that a person engaged in the business of manufacturing, importing or selling electrical appliances may not sell, or display for the purpose of sale, an electrical appliance unless it bears the display under Article 10, paragraph 1. Not sellable, and not displayable for sale. (Quotations in this guide are of the Japanese statutory text; the renderings here are this site's translations.)
Note who the obligation falls on: a person engaged in the business of manufacturing, importing or selling. It is not an obligation placed on the buyer. But a product circulating without the display means the business has not met that condition, which tells a buyer that the product may not have been through any of the prescribed checks.
False marking is prohibited separately. Article 10, paragraph 3 provides that unless a notifying business affixes the display under the preceding paragraphs for a notified type, no person may affix the Article 10(1) display, or a display confusingly similar to it, to an electrical appliance. Confusingly similar displays are inside the prohibition.
The definition of importing matters here too. Article 2, paragraph 5 provides that the act of importing includes the act of a person outside Japan having another person bring goods into Japan from abroad and having a general consumer take delivery of them.
2. The mark alone is not the requirement
The form of the display is set by Article 17 of the Enforcement Regulation, which splits the required items in two.
For a specified electrical appliance listed in the left column of Appended Table 1 of the Order: the symbol prescribed in Appended Table 6, the name of the notifying business, and the name of the inspection body that issued the certificate under Article 9, paragraph 2 of the Act. For an electrical appliance listed in Appended Table 2 of the Order: the symbol prescribed in Appended Table 7 and the name of the notifying business.
So the symbol is one of several required items. Under either heading the name of the notifying business must accompany it, and for a specified electrical appliance the inspection body's name comes too. That is the usable pre-purchase check: a mark-like symbol with no company name anywhere does not meet the prescribed form.
The symbols themselves are prescribed as figures in Appended Tables 6 and 7. This site read the body text of the Ordinance and does not reproduce those figures or describe their shapes; in practice, checking that a mark and a business name appear together is enough.
Abbreviations are allowed in some cases. Article 17, paragraph 2 provides that an approved abbreviation, or a registered trademark that has been notified, may be used. An unfamiliar short form alongside the mark is therefore not in itself a defect.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| Category | Items that must be displayed (Enforcement Regulation, Article 17) | What to look for |
|---|---|---|
| Specified electrical appliance (left column of Appended Table 1 of the Order) | The symbol in Appended Table 6, the name of the notifying business, and the name of the inspection body that issued the certificate | An inspection body name in addition to the business name |
| Other electrical appliance (Appended Table 2 of the Order) | The symbol in Appended Table 7 and the name of the notifying business | Symbol and business name appearing together |
| Where an abbreviation or trademark is used | An abbreviation approved by the Minister, or a notified registered trademark, may be used (paragraph 2) | An unfamiliar short form is not by itself a defect |
3. The two categories put a business through different procedures
The Act defines the categories. Article 2, paragraph 2 defines a specified electrical appliance as an electrical appliance that, in view of its structure, method of use or other circumstances of use, is particularly likely to cause danger or harm, and that is prescribed by Cabinet Order. The split is by degree of risk.
The procedural difference is in Article 9. Where an appliance a notifying business manufactures or imports is a specified electrical appliance, the business must, by the time it sells that appliance, undergo a conformity inspection by a person registered by the Minister, receive a certificate and retain it. Third-party inspection before sale applies to this category only.
For an electrical appliance that is not specified, the Act imposes no such third-party inspection. Which is also why the presence of an inspection body's name in the display is a way of telling the categories apart.
Which items fall into which category is set by the Appended Tables of the Cabinet Order. Article 1 provides that the electrical appliances under Article 2(1) of the Act are as listed in the left column of Appended Table 1 and in Appended Table 2, and Article 2 that the specified electrical appliances under Article 2(2) are as listed in the left column of Appended Table 1. Whether the thing you are buying is an electrical appliance at all is a question for those tables.
4. Power banks are in scope conditionally
The common question is power banks. Appended Table 2 of the Order lists lithium-ion storage batteries — but not unconditionally. The entry, rendered here by this site rather than quoted as English source wording, covers lithium-ion storage batteries limited to those with a volumetric energy density of 400 watt-hours per litre or more per single cell, and excludes those for automobiles, motorised bicycles, medical devices and industrial machinery. The statutory text is Japanese.
Three things follow. The scope is limited to cells of 400 Wh/L or more. Automotive, motorised-bicycle, medical-device and industrial-machinery batteries are excluded. And because the entry sits in Appended Table 2, these are not specified electrical appliances: Article 9's third-party inspection is not imposed on them by the text, and the display is the symbol plus the notifying business's name.
What this site cannot establish is worth stating too: there is no way for a buyer to determine from a product listing whether a given cell reaches 400 Wh/L. Deciding "is this product in scope" from the buyer's side is therefore impractical. Looking for the display is the faster and more reliable check.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| Common assumption | What the text actually says |
|---|---|
| All power banks require PSE | The Appended Table 2 entry is limited to lithium-ion storage batteries of 400 Wh/L or more per single cell, excluding automotive, motorised-bicycle, medical-device and industrial-machinery use |
| A mark means it is compliant | Article 17 of the Regulation requires the name of the notifying business alongside the symbol, plus the inspection body's name for a specified electrical appliance |
| The buyer breaks the law | Article 27 addresses persons engaged in the business of manufacturing, importing or selling; it states no obligation on the buyer |
| A personal import from an overseas seller falls outside the Act | Article 2(5) includes, within importing, a person abroad having goods brought into Japan and having a general consumer take delivery of them |
5. A different scheme from the radio conformity mark, and the order to check in
This site has a separate guide on the radio-law technical conformity mark for imported wireless accessories, and the two are easy to confuse. The conformity mark belongs to the Radio Act and covers equipment that emits radio waves. PSE belongs to the Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act and covers safety as an electrical appliance. Different statutes: one does not imply the other. Some products, such as the charger for a Bluetooth mouse, touch both.
A practical order: look at the product page photographs and specification list for a mark together with a business name; if none is visible, ask the seller for a photograph of the marking area on the unit; check the same display on the item when it arrives; and treat its absence as meaning the product does not meet the condition Article 27 places on the seller.
This guide is a reading of statutory text, not legal advice, and it judges no individual product. The explanatory pages of the responsible ministry were not used: they refused retrieval from this site. Everything quoted here is statutory text served by the e-Gov statute search service.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| Scheme | Statute | Scope | Guide on this site |
|---|---|---|---|
| PSE (display on electrical appliances) | Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act | Items listed in the Appended Tables of the Cabinet Order | This guide |
| Technical conformity mark | Radio Act | Radio equipment that emits radio waves | Covered in the conformity mark guide |
Limitations and requirements
- This guide reads statutory text and is not legal advice. It makes no judgement about whether a particular product or transaction is lawful.
- The explanatory pages of the responsible ministry were not consulted: they refused retrieval (HTTP 403). Everything quoted is statutory text from the e-Gov statute search service.
- The symbols themselves are prescribed as figures in Appended Tables 6 and 7 of the Enforcement Regulation. This site does not reproduce those figures or describe their shapes.
- Whether an item counts as an electrical appliance is decided by the Appended Tables of the Cabinet Order. This guide does not reproduce those tables; check the entry for your own item.
- For power banks, this site could not establish any way for a buyer to determine from a listing whether a cell reaches 400 Wh/L.
- Statutes are amended. The provisions quoted are as retrieved from the e-Gov statute API on 2026-09-20.
Frequently asked questions
If I buy a product with no PSE mark, am I penalised?
Article 27 addresses persons engaged in the business of manufacturing, importing or selling electrical appliances; the text states no obligation on the buyer. What the absence does tell you is that the seller has not met that condition. This guide is not legal advice, so take specific questions to a qualified adviser.
There is a mark. Is that enough?
Article 17 of the Enforcement Regulation requires the name of the notifying business alongside the symbol, and for a specified electrical appliance also the name of the inspection body that issued the certificate. A product showing a symbol but no business name anywhere does not meet the prescribed form.
What is the difference between a specified electrical appliance and the rest?
Article 2(2) defines a specified electrical appliance as one that, in view of its structure, method of use or other circumstances of use, is particularly likely to cause danger or harm and is prescribed by Cabinet Order. The procedural difference is Article 9: for those items a business must, by the time of sale, undergo a conformity inspection by a person registered by the Minister and receive and retain a certificate.
Are all power banks covered?
The Appended Table 2 entry covers lithium-ion storage batteries limited to a volumetric energy density of 400 watt-hours per litre or more per single cell, excluding those for automobiles, motorised bicycles, medical devices and industrial machinery. It is conditional. And because the entry is in Appended Table 2, such batteries are not specified electrical appliances.
It has the radio conformity mark, so PSE is covered too, right?
They are separate schemes. The conformity mark comes from the Radio Act and covers radio equipment; PSE comes from the Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act and covers electrical appliances. The presence of one display does not establish the other.
Sources and verification date
Sources checked: . These sources support the specifications, procedures or prices discussed here. Check each source for applicable conditions and current information.
- e-Gov: Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act (Act No. 234 of 1961). Article 2 (definitions, specified electrical appliances, the scope of importing), Article 9 (conformity inspection of specified electrical appliances), Article 10 (display, and the prohibition on confusingly similar displays), Article 27 (restriction on sale). Text retrieved from the e-Gov statute API (lawdata/336AC0000000234) on 2026-09-20 ↗
- e-Gov: Enforcement Order of the Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act (Cabinet Order No. 324 of 1962). Article 1 (electrical appliances are those listed in the left column of Appended Table 1 and in Appended Table 2), Article 2 (specified electrical appliances are those in the left column of Appended Table 1), and the lithium-ion storage battery entry in Appended Table 2 (limited to 400 Wh/L or more per single cell; automotive, motorised-bicycle, medical-device and industrial-machinery uses excluded). Text retrieved from the e-Gov statute API (lawdata/337CO0000000324) on 2026-09-20 ↗
- e-Gov: Enforcement Regulation of the Electrical Appliance and Material Safety Act (MITI Ordinance No. 84 of 1962). Article 17 (form of display: for specified electrical appliances the symbol in Appended Table 6, the notifying business's name and the inspection body's name; for Appended Table 2 appliances the symbol in Appended Table 7 and the notifying business's name; paragraph 2 on approved abbreviations and notified registered trademarks). Text retrieved from the e-Gov statute API (lawdata/337M50000400084) on 2026-09-20 ↗
Related practical guides
- Japan's technical conformity mark: what to check before importing a wireless PC accessory
- Choose a USB-C laptop charger: wattage, USB PD and cable support
- Check PC-Part Compatibility Before Buying: CPU, BIOS, RAM, Case and Power
- Air cooler or AIO? Choose by case clearance, noise and maintenance
- PCIe 4.0 or 5.0 SSD for gaming? Check load times, capacity and slot sharing
- DDR4 vs. DDR5: Choose for a New Build, Reused RAM and Upgrade Cost