DDR5 CUDIMM explained: what the on-module clock driver changes, and how to check board support
Shopping for DDR5, you run into modules labelled CUDIMM. They look like ordinary DIMMs and cost a little more. The difference is one thing: a clock driver (CKD) mounted on the module. In its October 2024 announcement JEDEC says that with a DDR5 CKD, DIMM data rates can be increased from 6400 Mbps to 7200 Mbps in the initial version of the standard, targeting up to 9200 Mbps in future versions. Read that precisely: it is a statement about what the standard permits, not a claim that any particular PC gets faster. Whether you can use one at all is decided by the CPU and the motherboard, and the places to check are the board's specification sheet and the maker's memory support list. This guide reads JEDEC's document pages and press release, and the specification sheet of one real motherboard, and keeps "what CUDIMM is" separate from "where to check whether it works for you". This site has run no speed tests and publishes no performance figures.
Published · Updated · FaultNote editorial policy
Who this guide is for and what to prepare
- Readers who want to know what the CUDIMM label on a DDR5 listing means
- Readers checking whether their motherboard can take a CUDIMM
- Readers wondering whether the laptop-side CSODIMM standard concerns them
What you need
- Find your motherboard's exact model (printed on the board, or `wmic baseboard get product,manufacturer`)
- Find your CPU model (Task Manager's Performance tab, or `wmic cpu get name`)
- Be able to open both the Tech Spec tab and the Support tab on your board maker's product page
1. A CUDIMM is not a different kind of memory - it is a DIMM with one extra part
CUDIMM stands for Clocked Unbuffered DIMM. The difference from a conventional DDR5 UDIMM comes down to one thing: a clock driver (CKD) mounted on the module's own circuit board. It is still DDR5, still unbuffered, still 288-pin.
JEDEC's announcement of 15 October 2024 describes what the CKD does: "Integrating a Clock Driver (CKD) into a DDR5 DIMM provides numerous advantages, particularly in memory stability and performance, and enhances signal integrity and reliability at high speeds. By regenerating the clock signal locally on the DIMM, a CKD ensures stable operation even at elevated clock speeds."
The numbers are in the same announcement: "With a DDR5 CKD, DIMM data rates can be increased from 6400 Mbps to 7200 Mbps in the initial version of the standard, and targeting up to 9200 Mbps in future versions." Read that carefully. It is about the data rates the standard allows, not a claim that memory in your machine becomes faster, nor that you would notice. This site has not measured CUDIMM against UDIMM and publishes no comparison figures.
The same text lists the available configurations: "1Rank x8, 1Rank x8 with EC4 (4-bit error correction), 2Rank x8, 2Rank x8 with EC4, and 1Rank x16."
2. Telling them apart by standard: CUDIMM, CQDIMM, CSODIMM
Checking JEDEC's document pages on 2026-09-20 shows two common standards for clock-driver modules, both revised since the 2024 announcement. Keeping the current revisions to hand is useful, because product listings still quote the older numbers.
The first is JESD323B, titled "DDR5 Clocked Unbuffered Dual Inline Memory Module (CUDIMM and CQDIMM) Common Standard", shown as Release Number: Version 2, Published: Feb 2026. Note that CQDIMM has joined the title. The page says the standard defines the electrical and mechanical requirements for 288-pin, 1.1 V (VDD) CUDIMMs and for 288-pin, 1.1 V quad-rank CQDIMMs, and adds: "The CQDIMM has additional chip select signals at the connector pins where they were RFUs for the CUDIMM." In other words, connector pins reserved for future use on a CUDIMM carry chip select signals on a CQDIMM.
The second is JESD324B, titled "DDR5 Clocked Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module (CSODIMM) Common Standard", shown as Release Number: Version 1.2, Published: Feb 2026. It defines 262-pin, 1.1 V CSODIMMs, and states that "These DDR5 CSODIMMs are intended for use as main memory when installed in Computers, laptops and other systems." That is the SO-DIMM form factor - laptops and small machines.
Both document pages show "Free download. Registration or login required." This site has not downloaded either standard; everything here comes from the document pages' own descriptions and the 2024 announcement. The DDR5 SDRAM device standard itself is offered for purchase on the same site and was not consulted.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| Type | Standard (as shown on 2026-09-20) | Pins and voltage | Intended installation |
|---|---|---|---|
| UDIMM (conventional DDR5 unbuffered DIMM) | Outside the scope of the clock-driver common standards | 288-pin | Desktops generally |
| CUDIMM | JESD323B, Version 2, Published Feb 2026 | 288-pin, 1.1 V (VDD) | Main memory in computers |
| CQDIMM (quad rank) | The same JESD323B, named alongside CUDIMM in the title | 288-pin, 1.1 V (VDD) | Carries chip select signals on pins that are RFU on a CUDIMM |
| CSODIMM | JESD324B, Version 1.2, Published Feb 2026 | 262-pin, 1.1 V (VDD) | Computers, laptops and other systems |
3. Whether you can use one is printed in the board's specification sheet
This is the purchase decision proper. Whether a CUDIMM works is decided on the CPU and motherboard side, not the memory side - and that information is on the board's product page.
As a worked example, the ASUS PRIME Z890-P WIFI specification page was read on 2026-09-20. Its Memory row reads "4 x DIMM slots, max. 256GB, DDR5" and then "Support up to 8666+MT/s (OC),Non-ECC, Un-buffered ,Clocked Unbuffered DIMM (CUDIMM)*". Clocked Unbuffered DIMM (CUDIMM) is listed explicitly among the supported memory types. The CPU row on the same page reads "Supports Intel ® Core™ Ultra Processors (Series 2), LGA1851", so you can read the socket and supported series at the same time.
The asterisk on that line matters. Its footnote reads: "Supported memory types, data rate (speed), and number of DRAM modules vary depending on the CPU and memory configuration, for more information please refer to CPU/Memory Support list under the Support tab of product information site". Supported types, data rate and module count all vary with the CPU and the configuration, and the maker sends you to the support list. One line in the specification row is not enough; reading the support list is part of the procedure.
A second footnote is worth recording because it belongs to a different topic: "Non-ECC, un-buffered DDR5 memory supports On-Die ECC function." That is a mechanism distinct from module-level ECC, and it is independent of whether a module is a CUDIMM.
What this site could not establish: none of the JEDEC document pages, the announcement, or the board specification page says what happens if you fit a CUDIMM to a board that does not support one - whether it fails to boot, or runs with the clock driver bypassed. So this guide says nothing about that behaviour. Do not buy a combination on the assumption that it will work if the support list does not show it.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| What to check | Where to look | How to judge |
|---|---|---|
| Explicit CUDIMM support | The Memory row of the Tech Spec tab on the board's product page | Look for wording such as Clocked Unbuffered DIMM (CUDIMM) |
| The CPU pairing | The CPU row of the same page (socket and supported series) | Is the CPU you own or plan to buy in the supported series? |
| The data rate and module count you will actually get | The CPU/Memory support list under the Support tab | The footnote states these vary with the CPU and memory configuration |
| A specific memory product | The same memory support list (QVL), by part number | Absence does not prove incompatibility, but it is no basis for a guarantee either |
| Behaviour on a non-supporting board | Not stated in any source read here | This site does not guess. Avoid combinations you cannot confirm |
4. Sorting it out before you buy
Turning the above into a purchase decision.
First, CUDIMM is not a product category meaning fast memory. What JEDEC states is that regenerating the clock signal on the DIMM secures stable operation at elevated clock speeds and lifts the data rate the standard permits. Whether your own work gets faster is a separate question this site has not measured. For the general question of how much memory data rate matters by workload, see this site's guide comparing DDR4 and DDR5.
Second, support lives on the CPU and board side. If you are adding memory to a machine you already have, read the specification row and then the support list. This site will not write "it will probably work" about a board whose specification row does not mention CUDIMM.
Third, if you use a laptop, CUDIMM is not your option at all. The laptop-side standard is CSODIMM (JESD324B), in the SO-DIMM form factor. And there is a prior question - whether your laptop's memory can be changed at all - so read the upgradeability check first. Recent machines increasingly use a third arrangement that is neither SO-DIMM nor soldered.
Fourth, capacity and module count are independent of all this. Whether to fit 16 GB or 32 GB, and whether to run two modules or four, are the same decisions as before.
Scroll horizontally to see the full table →
| Your situation | Is CUDIMM in scope? | Read first |
|---|---|---|
| Building a new desktop | Yes - check the specification row while choosing the CPU and board | The board's specification row and its CPU/memory support list |
| Adding memory to an existing desktop | Decided by whether the board's specification row names CUDIMM | The support list, against your existing configuration and module count |
| Using a laptop | No - the laptop-side standard is CSODIMM (262-pin) | Whether the machine's memory can be changed at all |
| Just want more capacity | Capacity and module count come before module type | How much capacity you need, and the slot arrangement |
Limitations and requirements
- This site has not measured CUDIMM against UDIMM. There are no performance comparison figures in this guide. The 6400 to 7200 Mbps figures are JEDEC's statement about the standard, not about what you would feel on a particular PC.
- What happens when a CUDIMM is fitted to a board that does not support one is not stated in any source read here. Nothing has been supplied by guesswork, so this guide cannot answer it.
- The JEDEC standards themselves (JESD323B, JESD324B) are free to download with registration or login, but this site has not downloaded them. The text here rests on the document pages' descriptions and the 2024 announcement.
- Revisions change. On 2026-09-20 JESD323B showed Version 2 (Published Feb 2026) and JESD324B showed Version 1.2 (same). Product listings sometimes still cite the older numbers JESD323 and JESD324.
- The specification sheet used as an example is a single board from one maker. Other makers and models word things differently. Check your own board's page yourself.
- The maker's own footnote states that supported types, data rate and module count vary with the CPU and memory configuration. Do not read the maximum data rate in the specification row as a figure you get in every configuration.
Frequently asked questions
Will buying CUDIMM make my memory faster?
Nothing in the sources read here supports saying so. JEDEC's statement is that regenerating the clock signal on the DIMM secures stable operation at elevated clock speeds and allows DIMM data rates to rise from 6400 Mbps to 7200 Mbps in the initial version of the standard. The rate you actually get is set by the CPU, the board and the configuration, and how that translates into anything you would notice is a further question again. This site has not measured it.
How do I find out whether my motherboard supports CUDIMM?
The Memory row of the Tech Spec tab on the board's product page. On the ASUS PRIME Z890-P WIFI used as an example here, Clocked Unbuffered DIMM (CUDIMM) is named among the supported memory types. But the footnote on that same line states that supported types, data rate and module count vary with the CPU and memory configuration, and directs you to the CPU/Memory support list under the Support tab. Read both.
Can I mix CUDIMM and UDIMM modules?
None of the JEDEC document pages, the announcement or the board specification page read here says anything about mixing. This site does not answer by guesswork. The safe course is the ordinary one: follow the board maker's memory support list and buy modules as a matched kit.
I have also seen CQDIMM. Is that something else?
One standard, JESD323B, defines both. As of 2026-09-20 its title reads "DDR5 Clocked Unbuffered Dual Inline Memory Module (CUDIMM and CQDIMM) Common Standard". CQDIMM is the quad-rank version, described as having additional chip select signals at connector pins that are reserved for future use on a CUDIMM.
Can I put a CUDIMM in a laptop?
No - a CUDIMM is a 288-pin DIMM and will not fit a laptop slot. The laptop-side equivalent is CSODIMM, defined by JESD324B as a 262-pin module. But the prior question is whether your laptop's memory is replaceable at all.
Sources and verification date
Sources checked: . These sources support the specifications, procedures or prices discussed here. Check each source for applicable conditions and current information.
- JEDEC: JEDEC(R) to Launch New Raw Card DIMM Designs with DDR5 Clock Drivers, dated 15 October 2024. The description of the CKD regenerating the clock signal on the DIMM, the 6400 to 7200 Mbps figure for the initial version of the standard with up to 9200 Mbps targeted in future versions, the list of available configurations (1Rank x8, 1Rank x8 with EC4, 2Rank x8, 2Rank x8 with EC4, 1Rank x16), and the reference to JESD323 and JESD324. Read 2026-09-20 ↗
- JEDEC: JESD323B document page. Title "DDR5 Clocked Unbuffered Dual Inline Memory Module (CUDIMM and CQDIMM) Common Standard", Release Number: Version 2, Published: Feb 2026, the 288-pin 1.1 V (VDD) definitions, the sentence on the CQDIMM's additional chip select signals, and the "Free download. Registration or login required." notice. The standard itself was not downloaded. Read 2026-09-20 ↗
- JEDEC: JESD324B document page. Title "DDR5 Clocked Small Outline Dual Inline Memory Module (CSODIMM) Common Standard", Release Number: Version 1.2, Published: Feb 2026, the 262-pin 1.1 V (VDD) definition and the statement of intended use. The standard itself was not downloaded. Read 2026-09-20 ↗
- ASUS: PRIME Z890-P WIFI Tech Spec. The Memory row "4 x DIMM slots, max. 256GB, DDR5" and "Support up to 8666+MT/s (OC),Non-ECC, Un-buffered ,Clocked Unbuffered DIMM (CUDIMM)*", the CPU row naming Intel Core Ultra Processors (Series 2) on LGA1851, the footnote stating that supported types, data rate and module count vary with CPU and memory configuration, and the footnote on On-Die ECC. Read 2026-09-20 ↗
Related practical guides
- CAMM2 and LPCAMM2: the third kind of laptop memory, and what it does and does not tell you about upgrades
- Check PC-Part Compatibility Before Buying: CPU, BIOS, RAM, Case and Power
- DDR4 vs. DDR5: Choose for a New Build, Reused RAM and Upgrade Cost
- DDR5 with Two or Four DIMMs: Compare Upgrade Speed Limits and Kits
- Check a laptop's upgradeability before you buy: soldered memory, M.2 slot count and battery capacity
- Integrated vs. Discrete Graphics: Check Workloads, CPU Models and Outputs